Abacus Lighting

Maintenance partnership with Edgbaston

Floodlight maintenance and servicing.

Birmingham: July 2017

In 2011 Abacus designed and installed the Edgbaston floodlighting system as part of a £32m redevelopment project. Featuring a cantilevered design, each mast holds around 60 Abacus Challenger floodlights which form the iconic ‘e’ that is now part of the Edgbaston skyline.

Being the first permanent floodlighting system at the stadium, this has opened up many more opportunities for evening matches. Gareth Roberts, Commercial Director at Warwickshire County Cricket Club, said: “Edgbaston is set for one of its biggest ever programmes of major match cricket this summer, hosting five matches in the ICC Champions Trophy, England’s first Day/Night Investec Test match and NatWest T20 Blast Finals Day.” “It’s been great to work with Abacus as part of our preparation for such an important summer and we look forward to working with its team.

With heavy reliance on the floodlighting system to enable this busy cricketing schedule to take place, the partnership between Edgbaston and Abacus will ensure that each evening match is played under a world class floodlighting system for many years to come.

Camilla Wigmore, Operations Director for Abacus Lighting, commented: “We are delighted to be enhancing our longstanding relationship with Edgbaston through the agreement to be ‘sole lighting provider’. We are proud to have designed, manufactured and installed the iconic Edgbaston lighting system in 2011 and are pleased to be entering into a long-term agreement to maintain the system on behalf of WCCC. We wish Edgbaston and WCCC every success with the forthcoming season and look forward to the spectacle of the first day-night test in the UK.

Floodlight maintenance and servicing partnership with Edgbaston Stadium Pictured: (l-r) Gareth Roberts Commercial Director, Edgbaston Stadium with James Brunt Sports Lighting Manager for Abacus Lighting.

Archive    2019  2018  2017  2016  2015  2014  2013  2012  2011  2010  2009  2008  2007  2006